Tesla Now Displays Which Apps Are Accessing Your Vehicle's Location in Update 2024.20

Tesla will now show you which apps are using your location Maxim
Tesla will now show you which apps are using your location
Karan Singh

In an undocumented change in Tesla update 2024.20 and later, Tesla has added a minor, but privacy-focused change to its software. Tesla has a user privacy-first focused policy, which aligns with the expansion of user privacy changes.

Location Privacy

Since late 2023 (update 2023.38), Tesla has been showing a small location icon at the top of the screen any time the vehicle’s location is being accessed, either by Tesla or a third-party app.

This includes someone using the Tesla app, which displays the vehicle’s location on a map. However, as of update 2024.20 and later, Tesla is now expanding the information shown.

Previously, when the icon was tapped, it would display a general message explaining why the icon was appearing. The message stated:

“This icon appears when an app requests your vehicle's live location data.
You can turn off sharing anytime in Controls > Safety > Allow Mobile Access, including all Tesla app access.
When this setting is on, your vehicle communicates directly with the Tesla app and other apps, but Tesla doesn't track your location.”

The same text is still displayed, but now boldly says, “This icon appears when an app requests your vehicle’s life location data.”.

More importantly, Tesla now displays the service that is accessing the vehicle’s location (h/t DriveTeslaCanada). So if someone opens the Tesla app, the vehicle will now display that the vehicle’s location is being accessed by the “Tesla Mobile App.” In addition, it appears to also display which Tesla driver or account is viewing the location of the vehicle. If it’s a third-party app or service accessing the vehicle’s location, Tesla will display the name of the registered third-party app.

Disabling Location Sharing

Tesla states that you can still turn off sharing in the same location as before (Controls > Safety > Allow Mobile Access), but doing so prevents many features of the Tesla app from working. If you use a third-party service, the location information is also tied to gathering detailed data on the vehicle, making it an “all or nothing” option.

If you have a service request active, Tesla Service may also ask you to re-enable Location Services so that Mobile Service can find your vehicle.

Unfortunately, there isn’t a history of which apps have accessed your vehicle’s location over a certain period. The location icon and detailed information are only available for a few seconds when the icon is displayed.